Demetrius Witherspoon talks Challenging Moments

Continuing a series of blog posts revealing an exclusive interview with the Indie filmmaker.
Click here to start from Pt 1

Before we go any further, filming for Submerge: Echo 51 starts this weekend. Click this link to check into the Submerge: Echo 51 Facebook page frequently to read updates from the set!
DW image400x400What was a tough challenge during the filming of the Submerge series?

“One day we were shooting at a park. We thought we had reserved the location for a set time, but in the middle of our shoot, a van pulled up, a group of people got out, and started setting up way early for a concert gig. They were apparently oblivious to the fact that they were in our shot, they just started setting up drums and equipment. We had to figure out how to shoot around them.

So we’re standing in the middle of the day, hotter than I-don’t-know-what, and, on the spot, my fight choreographer (Larry E. Jones) had to improvise a new fight scene to fit our confined space. Keep in mind that my fight choreographer was a police officer, and the day before, he had chased a suspect through poison ivy!

So he’s there in the middle of the heat trying to help us, as we’re losing daylight, and we DVD coverhave actors in from out of town. He had to come up with a new fight on the spot so we could get what we needed on time.

In the end, we got some good shots, but it wasn’t quite what I wanted, I had to ask the actors to come back for re-shoots, and everyone arranged to come back the following weekend so we could get some re-shoots, and between the two sessions, I got what I wanted.

Larry E. Jones is an actor and choreographer who initially came on board to play Lord Raz. Ultimately, we cast Bishop Stevens in that role, but Larry is still part of our crew and has helped us choreograph all the fight scenes. He’s currently working on the fights for Submerge Echo 51.

Check out our Links page to get follow all the news about the Submerge Films!
Blog content created by R.J. Sullivan, supervised by Demetrius Witherspoon.

Advertisements

About R.J. Sullivan

R.J. Sullivan’s latest book, Commanding the Red Lotus, is a novel-length collection of three space opera tales in the tradition of Andre Norton and Gene Roddenberry. His novel Haunting Blue is an edgy paranormal thriller and the first book of the adventures of punk girl Fiona “Blue” Shaefer and her boyfriend Chip Farren. Seventh Star Press also released Haunting Obsession, a Rebecca Burton Novella, and Virtual Blue, the second part of Fiona’s tale. R.J.’s short stories have been featured in such acclaimed collections as Dark Faith Invocations by Apex Books and Vampires Don’t Sparkle. R.J. co-hosts the Two Towers Talk Show YouTube program with John F. Allen. He resides with his family in Heartland Crossing, Indiana. He drinks regularly from a Little Mermaid coffee mug and is man enough to admit it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Demetrius Witherspoon talks Challenging Moments

  1. Pingback: Demetrius Witherspoon Interview pt 2 | Suberge: Echo 51

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s